Scott Walker

Bish Bosch

Regular price £27.99

After much speculation, 4AD release Bish Bosch by Scott Walker, his first studio album since 2006's The Drift. Scott began writing new material around 2009 - whilst also scoring the roh 2's duet for one voice ballet - recording it sporadically over the following three years. the end result is Bish Bosch, a tauter but more colourful experience than The Drift, with greater emphasis on processed, abrasive guitars, digital keyboards and thick silences. aided again by co-producer Peter Walsh and joined by a regular core of musicians, Ian Thomas (drums), Hugh Burns (guitar), James Stevenson (guitar), Alasdair Malloy (percussion) and John Giblin (bass). Musical director Mark Warman also played a prominent role, both as conductor and keyboardist, while guests include trumpeter Guy Barker and pedal steel guitarist BJ Cole, who worked on three of Scott's mid-seventies lps. For tracks 'sdss1416+13b (zercon, a flagpole sitter)', 'dimple' and 'corps de blah', Scott drafted in an orchestra, recording them in the hall at air studios last November. For the cover art, Scott worked closely with painter Ben Farquharson and designer Philip Laslett.