Jon DeRosa and Kendall Jane Meade

Prine Songs

Regular price £10.00
The Prine Songs EP on CD is a collection of John Prine covers performed by Jon DeRosa (Aarktica) and Kendall Jane Meade (Mascott). It was produced by Charles Newman (Magnetic Fields, Bones of J.R. Jones) at his Cottage Sounds studio in Los Angeles. Featured performers include Butch Norton on drums and Doug Pettibone on pedal steel.

Newman and DeRosa began the project shortly after John Prine's passing. Says DeRosa, "We passed some time during Covid in the studio recording demos of a handful of Prine's songs, with the idea that we'd keep them in our back pocket for a rainy day. Personally, I just wanted to pay tribute to a songwriter who meant so much to me. I was playing his songs at home all the time anyway, so why not put a few on tape."

When looking for a female lead to sing on “In Spite of Ourselves” they weren't quite sure who would it could be, but thankfully indie pop songstress Kendall Jane Meade emerged at just the right time. She contributed backgrounds to "Sailin’ Around" as well, and added a version of “I Remember Everything” to the collection of tribute songs. "When I first heard ‘I Remember Everything’, the lyrics moved me. So simple, yet so emotional. When I heard that it was the last song that Prine recorded before his death, I knew it was a song that I wanted to cover in his honor. In addition to his incredible musicianship, the fact that Doug knew Prine personally makes this recording even more special.”